Lützen, now a sleepy small town in Germany. Then, on November 16 the year 1632, the fog was dense. At this place was the Swedish king Gustav II Adolf killed. Let’s make a visit to the place.
During the morning of this autumn day in 1632, the fog was dense. The troops were standing and waited for the fog to ease. When the clock approached 11 am the fog began to dissipate and the order of gunfire came.
The death of Gustavus Adolphus
The battle, which stood between Gustavus Adolphus and Count Pappenheim was about to be overcome when Gustav II Adolf wanted the Swedish troops to press further against the enemy. To instill more courage and fighting spirit in his men he rode to the forefront.
At the front of the Swedish center came the king in a clash with an officer from the enemy side. The king shot him and the shot went through the lung. The king himself was hit by a bullet that shattered his left elbow. In the chaos that prevailed was also the king’s horse hit.
The horse was hit in the throat and was now almost impossible to steer. King became more confused and got further in among the enemies and the village of Lützen. Here he gets struck by a bullet in the back and also stabbed in the chest. The king fell from his horse.
On the ground lies a badly injured Gustav II Adolf. Someone walks to him and fires a fatal shot in the temple. The king is dead.
Shortly after the fatal shooting plundering the enemies the King’s body from clothes and gold jewelry. King’s jacket is sent to Vienna as a trophy. The battle was over.
Lützen and the site today
In Lützen today you can’t miss that something of great historical value happened here. Several streets have names with Swedish connections, a statue of Gustav II Adolf standing in front of the town hall, a school, and a kindergarten are also named after the king.
On the death-site is a memorial, Schwedenstein, and the area around the monument is named Gustav-Adolf-Gedenkstätte.
On the site are also two typical Swedish red cottages. These come from the Swedish landscape Dalarna and were donated in 1932 and 1982. Inside there is an exhibition about the king’s death.