Brussels has a wide range of nice places to see. Mont Des Arts, or Kunstberg, is a beautiful hill and of course one of them.
From being a block with houses, King Leopold II bought the area at the end of the 19th century. He began a total makeover and destroyed all the old houses on the hill. When the houses were gone, also his finances were ruined and the area became a forgotten project.
So, Brussels had this ugly place between the Royal Palace and the Grand Palace and they really had to do something.
To the Universal Exposition in Brussels in 1910, the area was converted to a park. The architect, Pierre Vacherot also designed a monumental staircase and fountains. His creation was demolished in the 1930s as a part av the city’s renewal project.
The Mont Des Arts we see today is constructed between 1956-1958 by landscape architect René Péchére to the exhibition Expo 58.